Pelican Pub & Brewery: Mushroom Fall Brewer’s Dinner Weekend Part I

November 9, 2010

My husband and I went out to Pacific City, OR this last weekend to take part in the Pelican Pub & BreweryMushroom Fall Brewer’s Dinner. The weekend itinerary with the pub looked something like this:

  • Friday, 6:00-8:00: Meet the Brewers Reception the Brewery.  Sample beers and eat some pizza with mushrooms.
  • Saturday, noon or 3:00: Brewery Tours
  • Saturday, starting at 7:00: Mushroom Fall Brewer’s Dinner
  • Sunday morning: breakfast

This was done as a package deal with the Inn at Cape Kiwanda, as they are both owned by the same company. I will write about the experience both today and continued tomorrow.

We arrived in Pacific City around 5:30pm. We checked into the hotel, which had a small beer and wine reception going on. They had a pinot noir and a chardonnay from Eola Hills Winery, of which the pinot noir was much better, but I think chardonnays are overrated. There was two beers from Pelican, and there was some sparkling “cider” (non-alcoholic), along with some fruit, cheese, and crackers. There was a company there also trying to sell candles and scented mists. When I first saw them, I thought it would ruin my experience tasting the wine, but the scents didn’t seem to permeate the room. Actually, one could have taken the wine and then smelled the candles, which ranged from dirt, mango, grandfather’s pipe, leather, apple, etc. However, I found that only one in four candles actually smelled like how I expected it to smell from the name. Dirt was spot on.

After the little hotel welcome, we walked next door to the Pelican Pub & Brewery for the Brewer’s Reception. We were back in the brewery instead of the pub, where we were given beer glasses to drink beer, and pizza was offered with mushrooms on them. All the brewers were there, including the head brewer, Darron, who talked to us a little bit about the facility and brewing processes.

The next morning, we had breakfast at the pub. We decided to share the Haystack Burrito with a bowl of fruit, and we ordered a side special of Apple Cinnamon Polenta. It was almost too much food, so I’m really glad we didn’t get two separate entrees.

We had some time to kill before we were to go on the brewery tour. There is a lot to do around there. The cheapest and local thing to do is to walk the beach and climb the Cape Kiwanda sand dune, and if the tide is out, look at the tide pools. There is some beaches and shopping to be done in Lincoln City, OR, which is about a half an hour to the south, or you can go north about 40 minutes to Tillamook, OR and eat cheese and look at the World War II airplanes at the Air Museum. We went to Tillamook.

Now the biggest attraction in Tillamook is the cheese factory, but we had both been there before, and I have some issues with the factory these days.  So we went to the Blue Heron French Cheese Company. The Blue Heron has a little bit of something for everyone. They were sampling their brie cheeses that day, including a smoked brie that was very tasty. They have lots of condiments to sample, such as dips, mustards, jams, and sauces. Outside, they have various animals including emus and donkeys as part of their petting zoo.  What we stopped and spent a little bit of time on was wine tasting, of which they had 40 wines open for sampling, and tastings were $2 for four samples.

My first wine was the Sea Mist Dry Cranberry Wine, which was a lot like eating a cranberry in that it was flavored that way and had a tart finish. I was impressed. I then tried the Wasson Brothers Sparkling Riesling, which was okay, but in a way, the sparkling part detracted from the wine. My husband had a Willamette Valley Edelweiss wine that was really good, as it was a blend of Gewurztraminer, chardonnay, and muscat grapes. I then had a Marionberry Mead from Château Lorane which I felt was done right. I believe they made a mead, fermented it dry, let it age, stabilized it, and lightly flavored it with marrion berries. You got the marrion berry flavor, but it wasn’t overly sweet. The last wine I had was a Europa ChocoVine from Holland. I was not impressed, as it was a lot like drinking Bailey’s Irish Cream liqueur, even though I like Bailey’s. I’m not impressed because it is simply easier to buy Bailey’s, and this was nothing new or different.

We went back to the Pelican Pub & Brewery for Darron to give us a brewery tour. We had eaten in the brewery the night before and heard a little bit about it, but Darron now walked us though the process of making beer at the Pelican.

To be continued tomorrow…

4 Responses to “Pelican Pub & Brewery: Mushroom Fall Brewer’s Dinner Weekend Part I”

  1. noell Says:

    sounds like an awesome trip!


  2. […] Yesterday, I talked about our time out on the Oregon Coast near Pacific City, OR leading up to the main event: the Pelican Pub & Brewery Mushroom Fall Brewer’s Dinner. […]


  3. […] bought a bottle of the Currant Noir and then left, discussing the tastings at Honeywood, a bit from Blue Heron French Cheese Company wine tasting the day before, and our favorite fruit wine from Shallon Winery.  The thing about Honeywood was that everything […]


  4. […] win, but I would have been disappointed if he had. I had been reading this book when I went to Pelican Brewpub, and inspired by this book, I asked their brew master how he came up with new recipes. I was […]


Leave a Reply

