Confluence Vineyard & Winery

January 27, 2011

My husband and I went out the Confluence Vineyards and Winery in Ridgefield, WA the other weekend.

The property is mostly pasture with white rail fences. The winery is a converted newer barn, where the production takes up a good portion, and the tasting room is a smaller space that was a bit crowded with three couples in it. Everything was windowless. Aparently, there are plans to build a new production building on the property, which would allow the tasting room to expand in the current building.

Confluence Vineyards and Winery does not grow their own grapes, so I’m not sure why they call themselves a vineyard. They buy the freshly picked grapes from the Yakima or Walla Walla areas. I can relate to this, as I don’t think I will be growing all of my fruit for my production. When they get the grapes, they then custom crush the grapes and make wine.

The tasting costs $5 a person, with the fee waved upon purchasing a bottle of wine. That day, they were tasting six different red wines. It was all very good wine, but honestly, my husband and I really could not note the difference between all of them them, as we had a hard time distinguishing that many red wines individually. I think this is a flaw on their part, as I probably would have had an easier time remembering each one if I had been served four reds and two whites.

One thing I really did like about the winery was that they had platters of food out to nibble on. That day, there were cheeses, cured meats, crackers, dark chocolate, and that day a special treat of meatballs in sauce made by the owner from a bottle of their wine.

One Response to “Confluence Vineyard & Winery”


  1. […] to buy something. A tasting fee removes that obligation from my mind. Take for example going to Confluence Vineyard and Winery the other day, who did have a $5 tasting fee. While it was all very good wine, I hard a hard time […]


Leave a Reply

