Chocolate and Cider Ponderings

February 9, 2011

This coming weekend is the Chocolate and Wine Tasting Weekend here in my area. We had a lot of fun doing it last year, and have several wineries planned out to visit this year. But the whole thing got me thinking – this is the market in which I would open up my cider house, so I would be a vendor participating in the Chocolate and Wine Tasting Weekend. What chocolate would I pair with cider? Pondering it, pairing chocolate and cider doesn’t seem to come as easy as pairing chocolate and red wine.

I put the question to the Cider Workshop, and got mixed responses. Some say they wouldn’t do the pairing, and others say it is possible. Dries Muylaert suggested drinking first and then eating the chocolate, pairing a heavy tannin ciders with light chocolates, and Claude Jolicoeur added to have a heavy chocolate with lighter ciders. All this talk got me thinking about either buying a whole bunch of chocolate for experimenting with cider, or making fudge where I could control the flavors. I decided to try making fudge.

Now, I have never made fudge before. I did some reading on the internet, and somewhere I read that for beginners, recipes that call for condensed milk or marshmallow cream will come out smooth without much hassle. Some recipes require a candy thermometer. Poking around, I settled on a fudge recipe done in the microwave, without a thermometer. I think I had the whole thing done and in the refrigerator in 10 minutes. It may not be the best fudge in the world, but it is a good starting point. I should add that I discovered that one 12 oz bag of chocolate chips is 2 cups.

I think if I got more experienced at making fudge, I would add some cider. One cidermaker on the Cider Workshop did say that he made a fig/calvados/marzipan/chocolate dessert. Also, I had a cousin studying in Spain for awhile, and rather than trying to figure out how to bring me home a bottle of Spanish cider, she brought me home a bar of “Chocolate con leche y sidra” (chocolate with milk and cider) made by Sabores del Campo. So making a chocolate with cider is a possibility.

Further Readings:

One Response to “Chocolate and Cider Ponderings”


  1. […] the rest here: Chocolate and Cider Ponderings « The Candle Wine Project Related Posts:Warm You Up! Vanilla Cider & Spiced Chocolate Cookies Martha … Give […]


Leave a Reply

