Drink Review: Oliver’s Herefordshire Dry Cider

March 3, 2011

I bought a bottle of Oliver’s Herefordshire Dry Cider the other day. The 8.1% ABV cider was bottled in a 750 mL green wine bottle with a cork, so it is a still cider. The label says it is “Matures 8 months in oak casks,” which is probably where the clear liquid got it’s rich orange color.

I didn’t really notice much of a nose on it, but, for being a dry cider, it is really balanced. Like, it wasn’t acidic as dry wines so often can become, so I didn’t miss the sugar. I did notice the oak and maybe it was a tad overdone. The longer I drank it, the more my mouth dried out from tannins. That last bit got me thinking, “Wow, it could be a decade before I get apples to make cider with tannin like this.”

Overall, it is a very good cider. The balance in it makes it a very universal cider, and the tannins give it interest.

The back label reads, “This still, very dry cider is blended from selected varieties of vintage cider apples grown in orchards in Herfordshire, England. A very astringent, intense tasting cider that lingers in the mouth.” While the tannins, AKA astringency, does linger, I’m not sure I would call it very astringent. I do call it good.

One Response to “Drink Review: Oliver’s Herefordshire Dry Cider”


  1. […] here to read the rest: Drink Review: Oliver's Herefordshire Dry Cider « The Candle Wine … Related Posts:Chocolate and Cider Ponderings « The Candle Wine Project I put the question to the […]


Leave a Reply

