Gearing Up for Fall 2011

August 31, 2011

Life has been crazy for me, and this summer has somehow gotten by me without me doing some things I meant to do. I’m a bit bummed at this, which has put me into a death spiral of sorts because now I’m dragging my feet. There is so much I should have done, and now there is so much I should be doing for the coming season. I need to pick blackberries, reseal my wooden tray, buy more plastic racks, and fix some plumbing. The apples are going to be late this year, but apparently, I’m running a little late, too.

Another thing is that I still have 20 gallons of cider from pressing last year sitting in my dining room, taking up carboys. I’ve got to bottle that somehow, and chances are, it will be still because all I got is wine bottles to put it in.

I finally broke down and told my husband that I would probably produce less cider this year compared to last year, which makes me a little sad. I should be ramping up, not down. How am I going to get experience if I don’t keep doing cider? Practice makes perfect in my book. However, he was delighted with the idea, saying he wanted me to take some money and get a hold of real tannin apples and do a blend more like Carlton Cyderworks. He didn’t think of it as making less and therefore not having practice. He was thinking I should spend just as much time, energy, and money to get better ingredients to make better cider and get better that way. I mean, I’ve been getting some mostly good feed back, so I think he is on to something here…

I do love my Burtle brewer.

One Response to “Gearing Up for Fall 2011”


  1. […] I’m gearing up for my first crushing of the year. I know it is a little late, but so are the apples, and I’m not too terribly worried because I was going to make less cider this year, but hopefully better quality. That means I need proper cider apples, but I still haven’t exactly lined some up. So I’ve been pondering an experiment of just adding powdered wine tannin to my ferementation to see if I could get effect of having tannic cider apples. Of course, there is a little bit of a worry that adding powdered wine tannin would not be legal if I was licensed, but I’m not, and hopefully by time I am, a newly planted cider orchard will be mature enough to meet my supplies so that this will not be a concern anymore. […]


Leave a Reply

