What to do with Green Tomatoes?

November 1, 2011

Last year, I had a lot of green tomatoes. I had sent out a question on Facebook  asking what kind of wines I should try making, and a friend responded that they had some really good green tomato wine. So, I looked up a recipe and gave it a shot, making two gallons worth out of mostly green roma tomatoes. I did free them first to help with cell burst, and I added water and sugar like the recipe called for.

Green Tomato Wine

It has been a year now. I had issues with one gallon getting stuck at 1.010 SG, so I haven’t decided on how I’m going to deal with that and bottling since doing something like bottling might just cause the yeast to finally eat the rest of the sugar up. How does it taste? Honestly, kind of bland. I kind of wonder if the ratio of water is too much.

This year was not a good year for tomatoes, so there wasn’t really enough to make wine out of. Instead, we ate fried green tomatoes. I mentioned this to my coworkers, and their response was, “You mean that is real and not just the name of a movie?” Yep.

I make fried green tomatoes every October when there is no hope of the tomatoes ripening and it is about to frost. I don’t really work from a recipe, so it sort of changes from year to year. The basic process is this:

Green Tomatoes

Pick and wash green tomatoes.

green tomato batter

Slice the green tomotoes, dip them in egg, and then dip them in a dry mixture.

For the dry mixture, I’ve done a wheat flour/cornmeal mixture, bread crumbs, or my grandmother suggested Ritz crackers. This can also be gluten free if necessary. I also throw some seasoning into it, such as Mrs. Dash, garlic powder, Cajun seasoning, or grated parmesan cheese. It depends on my mood.

frying green tomatoes

Put them in a frying pan of hot oil and cook (left side), flipping once when golden (right side).

Fried green tomatoes

Remove when golden on both sides. Suggestion: place on a plate with a paper towel. Enjoy!

Now, I have tried a recipe that dipped in milk first, then flour, then egg, then the breading. I guess it is the better way to bread something, but I find that to be too much work. Fried green tomatoes are best hot and fresh, and if I am spending that much time making them, then it is hard for me to stop and eat them in their prime. They can be reheated, but I suggest a toaster oven, as they get a bit soggy and the oven helps dry them out. They aren’t as good, though. I store them in the fridge in a container lined with a paper towel to help absorb the moisture.

Leave a Reply

