The New Cider Tour Map

January 19, 2012

I have mentioned before that I was trained as a map maker. Most of my work is actually analysis, like studying demographics at a place or relationships between places.

A year ago, I went through and created a tour map of drinks I had reviewed, places I had been, or production sites that seemed interesting. Originally, I did it in Google Maps, but it always felt wrong to me. See, I’m used to working with some really expensive software from Esri, whom I lovingly call the Microsoft of the mapping world. I’m used to having different datasets displayed on top of each other with the option to turn on and off layers. Only want to see cideries? Turn off everything else. Want to see cideries and meaderies? Turn the meaderies back on. Google would not allow me to do that, but Esri finally got a free online webmapping site up that allows me to control the data in a way that I’m used to doing. To boot, I also have a dataset which I upload and share, where as Google liked to strip out information when I tried to download and share. I’m not downloading anymore, just uploading.

So with that all said, I am now rolling out the first converted map: North American Cider Production Map. Check this and more out in the section Tour Maps.

2 Responses to “The New Cider Tour Map”

  1. Lena Says:

    Maybe because it’s been a work in progress longer, or maybe I can’t get a feel for the new map as I’ve been up for 4 hrs and it’s only 7am, but I really love all the info that is readily available just by looking at the legend on the Google map.


  2. I like the look of your Esri map! Do you already have the latitude/longitude coordinates in your spreadsheet or is the software able to geocode a street address on the fly?

    I believe the Beer Mapping Project uses the Google Maps API to create layers that can be turned on or off. If you visit one of their maps (http://beermapping.com/maps/citymaps.php?m=portlandor), you can turn the different types of locations on or off by clicking the desired link in the legend.

    I don’t have enough programming knowledge to use the API, so I’ve been using Google Fusion Tables (http://www.google.com/fusiontables/public/tour/index.html) to map points of interest in the cider world. It seemed like the least painful way to quickly visualize my data!


Leave a Reply

