Non-Brown Beer Bottles

September 12, 2012

When my husband Burtle and I started homebrewing, I took all the wine bottles for my cider and wines, and Burtle took all of the beer bottles. After a bit of time, though, Burtle stopped using the 22 oz bottles because they were harder to drink. That is to say, there are a lot of times where you only want one drink, not two. I started using the 22 oz bottles and realized that cider did taste so much better carbonated. I ran into the same problem as Burtle did, though, with that size. So, I wanted to start bottling in 12 oz.

Now, I was told in my cider making class by Peter Mitchel that cider does not suffer from light struck. That is to say, light does not change the flavor of cider. I do have the understanding that light does affect wine, and they talk about “skunk” in beer all the time. So, initially, I was bottling into some used 12 oz green Heineken bottles that I found so that Burtle and I wouldn’t fight over bottles. However, I don’t have enough bottles.

As a homebrewer, I have tired looking for clear or green beer bottles, but apparently, the wine and beer industries shun them, so they are very hard to find, if not impossible. In fact, Carlton Cyderworks has recently switched from clear bottles to brown bottles. Reverend Nat’s Hard Cider does bottle into clear glass, but those are the swivel top bottles, and I’m a little hesitant to use those as a hobbyist at the seals eventually give out.

It has been frustrating to me, and in the end, I ended up cleaning up a whole bunch of brown bottles and then marking them around the neck with finger nail polish to indicate they are mine. I would rather be working with green or clear beer bottles instead.

Related readings: Beervana – Can America Return to Returnable Bottles?

Leave a Reply

