Reverend Nat’s Cider and Cheese Tasting

June 27, 2013

Last night, as part of Oregon’s Cider Week, Reverend Nat’s Hard Cider opened his new facility for a small cheese and cider pairing.

We got there a little bit early, and Burtle realized Rev. Nat had a cider called Sacrilege that was made with some sour cherries and lactobacillius. Basically, Burtle is a sucker for sour beers and loves the Spanish ciders, so he was curious how Rev. Nat did. This was actually a fairly mellow tasting. It hardly had any cherries in it, so it wasn’t like an over powering kriek.  The lacto wasn’t super in your face, either. I could see it going well with dinner or with desert. The wheels in Burtle’s head are turning.

Then we began with the tastings. They were all Reverend Nat’s cider paired with a cheese suggested by The Cheese Bar, the same man who does the Cheese and Beer Fest. In fact, that is how I knew about this event, as I said they needed to do a pairing with cider. They also said cider is easier than beer. The pairings were:

  1. 2011 Skyline Blend paired with Samish Bay’s Cheese’s Fresh Ladysmith. This actually ended up being my favorite cider and favorite cheese. The cheese was a semi-fresh cheese, though a bit on the salty side.
  2. 2011 Revival Dry paired with Fern’s Edge Dairy’s Mt. Zion. This is probably the first goat’s cheese I’ve tolerated in a long time, but I think it was because it was super aged for legal reasons.
  3. 2009 Revelation Kingston Black with Neal’s Yard Dairy’s Montgomery Cheddar. This was Burtle’s favorite cider, though I found it to be a little thin. As for the cheese, Burtle doesn’t really care for cheddar, but this one wasn’t so strong. Maybe we Americans do cheddar differently?
  4. 2011 Providence Traditional New England with Ferme Kukulu’s Pur Brebis au Piment d’Espelette. This was kind of a strange pairing. It was a spiced cider with added raisins and brown sugar to make it more of a Christmas drink paired up with a cheese containing pimentos. I never could get a solid feeling on what I felt about the pairing.

You know, for being told that cider and cheese is easier to pair up, I never really got that moment of wow. Maybe my expectations are wrong. In my head, I’m thinking this should be like how chocolate enhances the flavor of wine, but wine doesn’t really enhance chocolate. I kept waiting for that one cheese to make that one cider that much better, but I didn’t find it.

I’m just going to have to do more experimenting!

Leave a Reply

